Isla de Gigantes

For this year starter, I chose Iloilo. Upon planning, I was quite upset knowing that when I search around the internet only few posts emerged. Yet I never let myself down for I already booked a ticket. My flight was even moved to a different schedule and I only knew about this a day before our travel date. I was raging. I contacted and informed them that I need to get an earlier flight because I have an itinerary to follow. It was easy to rearrange but because I had already checked in our flight, I did it before knowing our flight was moved, everything became complicated. Good thing, Cebu Pacific able to gave in to my request. We had an earlier flight. Then bravo, hello Iloilo! Traveling to the paradise will take you hours of road trip.

Let may take you there through words. We rode a van going to Tagbak terminal from the airport to Estancia. From there you can ride a van or a bus, we opted for a van because its faster and the fare difference is minimal. Once in Estancia ride a tricycle to the port. Just because of the moody weather we needed to wait for a few fixes, our guide Kuya Joel welcomed us to Pa-on Beach. IMG_0161[1]We waited for a few hours, we had our first try but the wave was too big to get through. I really thought our trip will be cancelled, I almost lost my hope. Around late in the afternoon, some brave men carried us to the island, you can see the waves and rain crashing us from my previous post Iloilo Teaser. I was praying the whole time I guess. Despite everything that happened, it cannot surpass the beauty of its prize. You can easily shoo it once you see the island. When we got to Gigantes Hideaway Tourist Resort, we were given towel and hot coffee. The rooms resembled the bahay kubo. It has a mini-terrace with a hammock.  All the food served were the best, if you’re looking for a seafood hideout you can taste it here.IMG_0252[1]

The next day, we got up early to discover the island. We went first to the Parola/Lighthouse driven by our tour guide, Clifford. beautifully taken cared. The view CIMG4093from the top was alluringly magnificent. The vastness of the sea, how the sky meet the see and the islands from afar. My fear of height fought for this beauty and I am so happy. We went back to the resort to eat our breakfast and started our island hopping, finally! Our first destination was the Bantigue Sand Bar. Impressive, best sandbar so far. In the middle of nowhere you see a refugee and that refugee is a paradise. Next stop, Cabugao Gamay Island. This is where we had so much fun. Its shape gives justice on its pristine beach. We climbed, once again I conquered my fear. This one island is like a sandwich middling a shoreline. Then we moved to the hidden island called Tangke. Its mysterious enough to hide something beautiful inside its rock formation. This is the place among the tour where you can cliff jump, which I am not capable of doing. Lastly, we finally took a splash and went snorkeling in Antonio’s Islet. Here you can find everything, down to the bottom of the sea up to the shoreline, things were incredible. There were corals and different sea creatures and the white, pristine sand calls for more than two thumbs up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We ended our tour as went back to the resort. We bid goodbye to its giant coffin and its tree house. We took our last heavy lunch and thanked all the Kuya who made everything possible. My first travel diary was memorable.

Leave a Reply

ahellahappylife

my life, loves, musts and crazy super hilarious adventures, just for you :)!

SMALL-TOWN GIRLS, MIDNIGHT TRAINS

Travel inspiration for small budgets and big dreams

My Expensive Hobby

Traveling the world

The Frustrated Writer

Let's journey together

Viajera Cebuana

live.laugh.love.sea.sun.sand.summit.reef

COPYCARLA

The Lost Copywriter

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

missplaced

Everything has its place.

