Bagsik

Image

This is my BAGSIK face of the day!

That’s the word I needed myself to portray today. Oh wait or was it the word I already portrayed today.

Bagsik is a cebuano word that means fierce. It is a word that usually describes the ancestors of Lapu-Lapu, the hero of Mactan, Philippines. It is sometimes a positive or negative adjective depending on how the sentence is constructed. And how it described me today was both positive and negative.

I received this word from my friend Gaga when she texted it to me after knowing that I didn’t attend my duty because I discontinued my contract from a 5-star hotel resort here in Mactan. It is Bad. In a way that I quit. But it was overwhelming knowing that I have stood to my rights and wants. In the first, my reason is acceptable. I cannot afford to cater 600 hours for that hotel, I am only required by my school for a 200 hours and what they asked from me was more than half of my time. They don’t even have an allowance to compensate my efforts. Somehow, I was bagsik in a good way because I had made the right fierce decision.

I felt “bagsik” too when I walked around our neighborhood asking for my requirements. I felt more bagsik after asking help from my teacher about it. And maybe later, I’ll have more bagsik moments because I will be doing a lot of inquiries at the City hall. So wish me luck, bagsik is on its way. Good day!

marei ❤

 

Leave a Reply

The Weekend Sightseer

Work . Save . Travel . Enjoy

ahellahappylife

my life, loves, musts and crazy super hilarious adventures, just for you :)!

SMALL-TOWN GIRLS, MIDNIGHT TRAINS

Travel inspiration for small budgets and big dreams

Le Voyage´

"Not all those who wander are Lost"

The Frustrated Writer

Let's journey together

Viajera Cebuana

live.laugh.love.sea.sun.sand.summit.reef

COPYCARLA

The Lost Copywriter

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

